Grilled Chicken with Gremolata and Arugala Salad

20161127_204214.jpg

So the first thing I noticed when trying this recipe is that I had no idea what ‘Gremolata’ was. I have since Googled it; Wikipedia tells me that it’s “a chopped herb condiment classically made of lemon zest, garlic and parsley. It is a traditional accompaniment to the Milanese braised veal shank dish ossobuco alla milanese.” Which made me laugh, because my only experience with Osso Bucco is when Jan made it  for the dinner party at Michael’s house on the Office.

So anyway, I really should’ve looked it up first. As a result, when I read the recipe, I saw the word ‘rough paste’ and instantly translated that to “I GET TO MAKE A PASTE IN THE FOOD PROCESSOR’. Wrong. Apparently it’s not like a pesto, but more like a little herb condiment salad. Sort of. But honestly, I like my version better. And you can bet I didn’t keep it to one piddly clove of garlic; I added 3. It was potent, to say the least, so don’t feel obliged to follow in my vampire-hunting footsteps.

This was also the first time I’ve cooked with a cast iron grill skillet. It was interesting; on the plus side, the smoke alarm didn’t go off, and the chicken was delicious. Seriously, a little olive oil, black pepper, and salt is all I put on those boobies, and they were great.

I also didn’t use the recipe’s dressing; I made a dijon mustard vinaigrette that was pretty boss. I just Googled for that, but the secret weapon was that the mustard I used was Annie’s Dijon Horseradish Mustard. Holy. Shit. It was amazing. The dressing had a little kick to it, if you like that sort of thing.

All told, dinner fed three adults and left enough for 2 lunches for tomorrow. Score!

Grilled Chicken with Gremolata and Arugula Salad

Mustard Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

